Evolutionary Psychology

PSYC 358, Section 001

Calendar of Events

Introduction to the course

 Thursday, September 7: Introduction to “Evolutionary Psychology”

[No readings assigned]

 Tuesday, September 12: Logical principles underlying evolutionary psychology

Reading: Buss, Chapters 1 and 2

Part 1: Gene’s-eye view of Human Psychology

 Thursday, September 14: The gene’s-eye view of life

Reading: Dawkins, Chapters 1 and 2

 Tuesday, September 19: Good genes

Reading: Dawkins, Chapter 3

 Thursday, September 21: Adapted cognition

Reading: Dawkins, Chapter 4

Reading: Nairne, J. S., & Pandeirada, J. N. S. (2008). Adaptive memory: Remembering with a stone-age brain. Current Directions in Psychological Science, 17, 239-243.

 Tuesday, September 26: The social context of adapted cognition

Reading: Dawkins, Chapter 5

 Thursday, September 28: Kinship and inclusive fitness

Reading: Dawkins, Chapters 6 and 8

 Tuesday, October 3:  MIDTERM EXAM 1

Part 2: Psychological Adaptations to the Challenges of Survival and Sexual Reproduction

 Thursday, October 5 Looking back; looking forward

[No new readings assigned]

 Tuesday, October 10: Better safe than sorry

Reading: Buss, Chapter 3

ESSAY ASSIGNMENT #1 IS DUE

 Thursday, October 12: The behavioral immune system

Reading: Buss, Chapter 3

Reading: Schaller, M., & Park, J. H. (2011). The behavioral immune system (and why it matters). Current Directions in Psychological Science, 20, 99-103.

 Tuesday, October 17: Sex and sex (Sex differences in sexual behavior)

Reading: Dawkins, Chapter 9

 Thursday, October 19 Mate preferences

Reading: Buss, Chapters 4 and 5

 Tuesday, October 24 Choosy women, show-off-y men

Reading: Buss, Chapters 4 and 5

 Thursday, October 26: Beyond sexual stereotypes (The psychology of female short-term mating)

Reading: Buss, Chapter 6

Reading: Haselton, M. G., & Gildersleeve, K. (2011). Can men detect ovulation? Current Directions in Psychological Science, 20, 87-91.

 Tuesday, October 31: MIDTERM EXAM 2

Part 3: Other Challenges, Other Adaptations, Other Implications

 Thursday, November 2: Parental care

Reading: Buss, Chapter 7

 Tuesday, November 7: Kinship and kin recognition

Reading: Buss, Chapter 8

 Thursday, November 9: Cooperation within groups

Reading: Dawkins, Chapter 10

Reading: Buss, Chapter 9

 Tuesday, November 14: Conflict between groups

Reading: Buss, Chapter 10

 Thursday, November 16: Emotions and why they matter

Reading: Buss, Chapters 11 and 12

Reading: Shariff, A. F., & Tracy, J. L. (2011). What are emotion expressions for? Current Directions in Psychological Science, 20, 395-399.

 Tuesday, November 21: Everything is connected

Reading: Buss, Chapter 13

 Thursday, November 23: Guest lecture by Marlise Hofer

[No new readings assigned]

 Tuesday, November 28: The perils and prospects of evolutionary psychology

[No new readings assigned]

ESSAY ASSIGNMENT #2 IS DUE

 Thursday, November 30: [Flex day]

[No new readings assigned]

 [Date to be determined later]: FINAL EXAM